I’m sitting in front of the TV now, hearing the endless stream of power ballads coming from X Factor. I’ve unwitttingly become sucked in this year as my housemates insist on watching it, and I have to say I’m yearning for something similar, but just much, much better – “You’re The Voice” by John Farnham. I fell in love with this song mostly as a joke – it’s used towards the end of one of my favourite comedies, Hot Rod, to amazing effect, but after downloading it for the laugh of playing it to friends, I’ve slowly come to the opinion that it’s easily my favourite “cheese” tune. The chorus is just so incredibly uplifting and bombastic, and the song holds up well after so many years and changes in style to this genre. Take a listen, and once you’ve done that, go watch Hot Rod too, both are absolutely worth it.

John Farnham – You’re The Voice (YSI)