I love the unexpected, completely emotive feeling of realising that you adore a song. That moment of “Fuck me, this is just incredible” seems almost primal, a base wonder that something this perfect could exist. It happens rarely, but that memory doesn’t fade easily. It happened to me yesterday, listening to LCD Soundsystem’s ‘New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down’.

Everything about this track is just unbelievably good; the way it starts as a stately ballad then seemingly veers out of control two thirds of the way through, stutters out of existence before finally righting itself once more, how James Murphy’s voice literally cracks and struggles to hit the high range, how the lyrics make such a specific situation seem somehow universal (But they shuttered your stores / When you opened the doors / To the cops who were bored / Once they’d run out of crime). Even the way the very first line sounds just a tiny little bit like Kermit The Frog.

It seems wise not to ramble too much (I really could though), so let’s extend the subject – what song does/has done this to you?

LCD Soundsystem – New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down (YSI)

