I’m not usually into remixes. Mash ups I understand, seeing as they take two songs and make them into one new one, but the act of tweaking a song I already like rarely appeals. There are exceptions like Soulwax’s version of “Kids” or The Twelves’ remix of “I’m Not Going To Teach Your Boyfriend…” but rarely do I prefer the remix. But now I’m in a conundrum, because I just heard Alex Metric’s rejigging of the amazing “Lisztomania” by Phoenix (sorry Scroobius Pip). The original song is upbeat, jerky wonder-pop, whereas the remix manages to slow the whole affair down, giving it a far more laid back feel with almost funky bass synth sounds all over the shop. And both of them are brilliant, and I don’t know which one I like better.

Give them both a listen and help me decide!

Phoenix – Lisztomania (YSI)
Phoenix – Lisztomania (Alex Metric Remix) (YSI)

