Exams are over, the sun is shining, summer has begun, and I’m back to blog you silly. Well, a late birthday present came through and I got £25 to spend on Amazon. I proceeded to buy six albums: Pulp’s Different Class, Captain Beefheart’s Trout Mask Replica, a physical copy of In Rainbows, Manic Street Preachers’ Generation Terrorists, Bob Dylan’s Blonde on Blonde (mainly because I watched High Fidelity and felt bad for not owning it) and, finally, Pixies’ Surfer Rosa & Come On Pilgrim.

I’ve wanted to invest in a Pixies album for a long time, mostly because every time I heard one of their songs, I inevitably asked who was playing it and it always came back with the answer, “Pixies, obviously!”. So having, got round to it finally, what do I think? It’s bloody fantastic, that’s what. Experimental, but with enough of a real rock feel to it to hold it all together whilst Frank Black and Kim Deal’s wailings never cease to amaze. I’ve not listened to it enough to really form a favourite track, but here’s one an few early favourites:

Pixies – Gigantic (YSI)

